The Word Is Murder

This is the first book in the Detective Daniel Hawthorne series by Anthony Horowitz. The story starts when an elderly woman goes into an undertaker’s, arranges her own funeral……and is murdered 6 hours later. The story started as a simple murder mystery. The first chapter sets the scene, describing a lady making arrangements for a … More The Word Is Murder

Murder at the Museum

Murder at the Museum is another Bits and Pieces jigsaw by Artist Gene Dieckhoner. As with all Bits and Pieces puzzles, this jigsaw offers a variety of interesting and non-repetitive puzzle shapes. Although a mystery jigsaw, the picture on the box is also the picture on the puzzle. So you can do this as an … More Murder at the Museum

A Mystery in the Life Artois

As featured in Shortlist, The Evening Standard and The Mirror “A Mystery in the Life Artois” is a 4-6 Player Murder Mystery Set in Luxurious Chateau d’Estelle. The game is designed by award-winning Red Herring Games (includes instructions, invitations and envelopes, character booklets, four folded clues, an envelope containing the solution, “making the most of … More A Mystery in the Life Artois

The Maltese Herring

This is the 8th book in the Herring series by L. C. Tyler. The Maltese Herring is available from City Adventurers Solve The Murder The Plot Dr Hilary Joyner is neither well liked nor well respected among his academic peers. However, he believes his next project will bring him the recognition he deserves. He’s working … More The Maltese Herring


We bought Mysterium a couple of years ago from a games shop in Cardiff, after the shop assistant recommended it. This is a cooperative mystery game. Someone has been murdered at the manor house and their ghost needs their death solved to move on. Most players take the part of a medium, trying to solve … More Mysterium

Crooked Herring

Sometimes it’s hard to get started. I’m sure you’ve had books that you’ve had a job getting into. Or a film that offered so much promise but turns out to be dry and boring. Sometimes they turn out to be not dry and boring at all. They just take a little longer to set the … More Crooked Herring

Rain on the Dead

Rain on the Dead is Book 21 in the Sean Dillon Series by Jack Higgins. This is another thriller that begins with links to the White House. It begins with the attempted assassination of the ex-President of the United States. Only the presence of Sean Dillon and the fellow members of the ‘Prime Minister’s Private Army’ … More Rain on the Dead